2018 Banquet News

We had a great turnout for the 54th Annual Arkport Alumni Banquet.  We honored members of the classes of 1943 for 75 years, 1968 for 50 years and 1993 for 25 years. We recognized class from 1948, 1958, 1978, 1988, 1998, 2008 and graduates from 2018.

    With 171 members and guests in attendance from 15 states, we enjoyed a buffet dinner provided by Infinity Catering.  In keeping with alumni members requests not to have an invited speaker, Linda Wellington Burdett, President, provided us with a little history on education in Arkport and the surround communities.

    We invited alumni members and local business to provide door prizes for attending members, and boy did they step up!  We want to thank the following:

Canisteo Valley Historical Society Jay Pullman

Sarah Sawczyszyn Platt, Class of 2003        Barbara Jean’s Country

Lee Marcus, Class of 1967        Jeremy Holbrook, Class of 1996

The Brute                Studio 12

Berry Vine Creations        Village Café

Meghan Dwyer, Class of 1996        Karlie Askins Burns, Class of 2000

Tara Sanford Wilson, Class of 1990Honey Bee Restaurant

Benjamin Noble, Class of 1995        Arkport Cycle, The Jamison Family

Leslie Power Tobin, Class of 2000Steuben Trust Company

    We introduced the scholarship winners from the Class of 2018:

    The Paul “Wink” Wolfgruber and Paul J. Wolfgruber Memorial Scholarships in the amount of $1,00 ($500 a year for two (2) years)  Bethany Wilcox

The C. Jack Wraight Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $500 was awarded to Thomas Rink

The Canisteo Valley Historical Society Scholarship in the amount of $300 awarded to Abigail Patrick

Arkport Alumni Scholarships   14-$400 scholarships were awarded to:

Bethany WilcoxThomas Rink

Abigail PatrickMackenzie Plank

Jasmine MoskoHolley Chamberlin

Harley LippincottAlyssa Merry

Caelan SmithDominic Fucci

Dominic FucciTiffany Smith

Grace ThompsonErin Geibel

    We would like to take this opportunity to Thank everyone who donated to the scholarship fund so we can support these fine young ladies and gentlemen!

    In our business portion of the evening the secretary and treasure reports were read and approved.  Members were asked for nominations of officers and members asked that current members stay on.  So again your 2018-2019 officers are:

    Linda Wellington Burdett, Class of 1969 President

    Marjorie Osborn Wagner, Class of 1957, Vice President

    Nancy Amidon Glover, Class of 1957, Treasurer

    Tracis Hoyt McCarthy, Class of 1997, Secretary

    If you have not paid your dues of $5.00 please do so ASAP.  You can now use PayPal!

    We hope everyone has a great summer!

Linda Wellington Burdett