Secretary Report from the 60th Annual Arkport Alumni Banquet

The 60th Annual Arkport Alumni Banquet was held on July 12, 2024 at The Main Place in Hornell, New York. Alumni officers Linda Wellington Burdett, '69 (President), Brenda Smith Porter, '87 (Vice President), Tracie Hoyt McCarthy, '97 (Secretary) and Cathi Crossett VanIderstine, '76 (Treasurer) welcomed 146 alumni members and their guests from 15 states to the evening event. Happy Hour guests were provided a free drink, by an anonymous donor, and it was exciting to see old friends reconnect. Larry Jones, '72, gave the blessing before a sit-down dinner of Stuffed Chicken or Haddock. Cupcakes by Avery (Avery Oliver, 2025) and coffee were provided for dessert.

The evening program included recognizing the following alumni members, Jim Robords, '46 was presented with a gift certificate for being a member of the oldest class attending. Jodi Bill, '04 from Honalulu, HI and Joseph Katsur '74 from Wascilla, Alaska were presented with gifts for being members who traveled the furthest.

This year Honored Classes were from 1949 (1 person attended), 1974 and 1991. Carolyn Burger McCarthy, '49 was presented flowers (provided by Berry Vine Creations, Becky Stever Canfield, '96) for being the oldest/only member of her class. Fourteen (14) members from the Class of 1974 attended, Jeff Lang spoke about growing up in Arkport and how lucky we all are that we get/got to have the childhood we had because of the people in Arkport. He also spoke of stories of him and his friends doing some crazy things and not getting into trouble, or at least too much trouble. Linda also thanked Jeff for helping her at ACS graduation recognize scholarship winners. Four (4) members from the class of 1999 attended. They were too shy to speak!

Recognized Classes were from 1944, 1954 (4 members attended), 1964 (6 members attended), 1984 (10 members attended), 1994 (0 members attended), 2004 (3 members attended), 2014 (1 member attended).

This year we honored four (4) alumni members who were First Responders. Bruce Smith '69, Norm Kennell '54, Mark LaBourr '71 and Robert Katsur '74. These gentlemen provided invaluable services to their communities and we would like to <u>Thank</u> them for their service.

The highlight of the evening was presenting the Scholarship/Awards for 2024.

The Wolfgruber Family Scholarship – two (2) years (\$750 a yr) \$1,500 Hannah Franklin

The Ambrose J. Zahradnick Memorial - \$1,000 - Sebastian Carroll

Kemp Family Memorial Scholarship \$500 – Daniel Clark

The Donald Stauring Service Award \$500 – Lucas McCarthy

The Canisteo Valley Historical Society \$500 - Lucas McCarthy

The Arkport Alumni Scholarship of \$750 each – NyVeah Stewart, Summer Marcus, Haley Armeli,

Salim Ford, Ben Liebham, Katelynn Merry, Zach Smith, Paige Pfaff

The Business portion of the program included the approval of the Treasurer's and Secretary Reports. Each year officers are nominated and selected. This year Linda stepped down as President and nominations for officers were made and approved:

Nomination for Brenda Porter Smith for President, approved Nomination for Tracie Hoyt McCarthy for Vice President, approved Nomination for Cathi Crossett VanIderstine for Treasurer, approved Nomination for Linda Wellington Burdett for Secretary, approved

At 9:15pm the meeting was adjourned with the singing of our Alma Mater! Yearbooks and memorabilia were provided and photos were taken of classes and friends. It was a great evening!

Respectfully, Tracie McCarthy, Alumni Secretary